United Kingdom
Our debut season of “Around the World in 12 Dishes” kicks off in the United Kingdom, our first step on our journey around the world, discovering our planet, one dish at a time.

The United Kingdom is officially called “The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland” and unites England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It is the “leftover” of the British Empire, which at the end of the 19th century covered about a quarter of the whole world! Many of the former colonies are still part of the “Commonwealth of Nations”, which officially has the Queen of England as head, which is completely symbolic, though.

The national language is English, but in some parts of Wales you will still find their own language, Welsh (or Cymraeg). The UK has a temperate climate with lots of rain throughout the year, with mild winters due to the exposure to the warm gulf stream.

The British cuisine is hearty, often incorporating meat and root vegetables or potatoes, with only few dishes seeing international recognition, though. Due to the British colonization and subsequent immigration, the East Indian cuisine has had a big influence, resulting in some Anglo-Indian dishes, such as Chicken Tikka Masala.

If you want to add a little more to your exploration of the United Kingdom, here are our passport and colouring placemat to download and enjoy!

Please visit the various blogs who link their posts with crafts, recipes and more about the United Kingdom.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s